Skip to content Skip to footer
OPENING HOURS FROM MARCH 1 TO NOVEMBER 3: 9 A.M.-19 P.M.
OPENING HOURS FROM MARCH 1 TO NOVEMBER 3: 9 A.M.-19 P.M.

Preservation of the monument

The Conservation Department of the Palais des Papes works for the preservation, restoration and restitution to the public of actions that are part of an approach to enhance the monument, since its opening to the public at the beginning of the 1995th century. . Classified as a historical monument, listed as a UNESCO heritage site since 700.000, the Palais des Papes is today one of the most visited French monuments and welcomes nearly XNUMX visitors each year.

Major restoration projects

Regularly, with the support of communities and institutions, the Conservation Department accompanies major restoration campaigns that preserve and highlight both the specificity of the monument from a historical point of view and its architectural and artistic treasures.

In January 2022, the City of Avignon launched the first phase of a major conservation and restoration plan for the painted decorations of the Palais des Papes, which will be spread over several years. The aim is to preserve and enhance this medieval heritage of exceptional value.

Books to better understand

“Monument of history: building, rebuilding the Palace of the Popes – XNUMXth-XNUMXth century”
On the occasion of the eponymous exhibition presented in the Grande Chapelle in 2002, a very complete catalog written and documented by Dominique Vingtain, Curator of the Palais des Papes.

"Palace of the Popes, photographs"
A 128-page picture book entirely devoted to photography, where the beauty of the Palais des Papes is revealed in all its diversity thanks to the photographs of Fabrice Lepeltier, with texts by Dominique Vingtain, curator of the Palais des Papes from 1993 to 2022.

Julien Gallon

j.gallon@avignon-tourisme.com
Please enable JavaScript in your browser to complete this form.

Julien Gallon

j.gallon@avignon-tourisme.com
Please enable JavaScript in your browser to complete this form.

Good to know

The Conservation Department archives and references a wide selection of heritage photographs, accessible for scientific or historical documentation projects. To access it, simply click on the link opposite and follow the instructions.

Early closure on June 19

Due to the passage of the Olympic Flame on June 19 in Avignon, the monument will close its doors at 18 p.m. (ticket offices close at 17 p.m.). Thank you for your understanding.

Learn more
Home
Book
Visit
Agenda
Make a donation
×

Skip to content Skip to footer
HORAIRES D'OUVERTURE DU 1ER MARS AU 3 NOVEMBRE : 9H-19H
HORAIRES D'OUVERTURE DU 1ER MARS AU 3 NOVEMBRE : 9H-19H

Conservation du monument

Le service de la Conservation du Palais des Papes oeuvre à la préservation, à la restauration et à la restitution auprès du public de d’actions qui s’inscrivent dans une démarche de valorisation du monument, depuis son ouverture au public au début du XXe siècle. Classé monument historique, inscrit au patrimoine de l’Unesco depuis 1995, le Palais des Papes est aujourd’hui l’un des monuments français les plus visités et accueille chaque année près de 700.000 visiteurs.

Les grands chantiers de restauration

Régulièrement, avec le soutien des collectivités et des institutions, le service de la Conservation  accompagne de grandes campagnes de restauration qui permettent de préserver et de mettre en lumière à la fois la spécificité du monument du point de vue historique et ses trésors architecturaux et artistiques.

En janvier 2022, la Ville d’Avignon a lancé la première phase d’un grand plan de conservation et de restauration des décors peints du Palais des Papes, qui s’étalera sur plusieurs années. Le but est de préserver et de valoriser ce patrimoine médiéval d’une valeur exceptionnelle.

Des ouvrages pour mieux comprendre ​

« Monument de l’histoire : construire, reconstruire le Palais des Papes – XIVe- XXe siècle »
A l’occasion de l’exposition éponyme présentée dans la grande Chapelle en 2002, un catalogue très complet écrit et documenté par Dominique Vingtain, Conservateur du Palais des Papes.

« Palais des Papes, photographies »
Un livre imagier de 128 pages entièrement consacré à la photographie, où la beauté du Palais des Papes se révèle dans toute sa diversité grâce aux photographies de Fabrice Lepeltier, avec des textes de Dominique Vingtain, conservateur du Palais des Papes de 1993 à 2022.

Julien Gallon

j.gallon@avignon-tourisme.com
Veuillez activer JavaScript dans votre navigateur pour remplir ce formulaire.

Julien Gallon

j.gallon@avignon-tourisme.com
Veuillez activer JavaScript dans votre navigateur pour remplir ce formulaire.

Bon à savoir

Le service de la Conservation archive et référence un large choix de photographies patrimoniales, accessible pour des projets de documentation scientifique ou historique. Pour y accéder, il vous suffit de cliquer sur le lien ci-contre et de suivre les instructions

Fermeture anticipée le 19 Juin

En raison du passage de la Flamme Olympique le 19 juin à Avignon, le monument fermera ses portes à 18h (fermeture des caisses à 17h). Merci de votre compréhension.

En savoir plus
Accueil
Réserver
Visiter
Agenda
Faire un don
×