Skip to content Skip to footer
OPENING HOURS FROM MARCH 1 TO NOVEMBER 3: 9 A.M.-19 P.M.
OPENING HOURS FROM MARCH 1 TO NOVEMBER 3: 9 A.M.-19 P.M.

Palace of the Popes: photographs

For several years, the Conservation Department of the Palais des Papes has been working to create and enrich a heritage photo library, now accessible to the public. As a result of this work, Avignon Tourisme wanted to publish a book in the form of an image book and to entrust its editorial coordination to Benoît Martin, then assistant to the curator of the Palais des Papes. In this 128-page book entirely devoted to photography, the beauty of the Palais des Papes is revealed in all its diversity.

“How can we refresh our vision of an emblematic monument of French heritage of which we have already seen so many images? By following in the footsteps of a photographer who immerses himself in the contemplation of the monument to capture its innumerable facets, juxtaposing the whole and the detail, traversing it at all hours of the day and night and in all seasons. That's what Fabrice Lepeltier did with his keen eye as a heritage lover. From its voluminous photographic collection have been extracted shots which, in a poetic dialogue, bring the Palais des Papes back to life. »Dominique Vingtain

Dominique Vingtain

Author

Historian of medieval art, has been in charge of various collections, in Nantes (Thomas Dobrée museum) and in Cluny (Museum of art and archeology of the Middle Ages). Director of the Petit Palais Museum and Chief Curator of the Palais des Papes (1993-2022). As such, she has published several monographs and collective works on Avignon and the Palace of the Popes.

Fabrice Lepeltier

Photographer

He has collaborated with numerous museums, heritage sites, collectors, artists and musical ensembles for over 30 years. His photographs and videos regularly accompany/illustrate thematic and monographic exhibitions. Its photographic inventory missions cover many public and private collections. At the request of Avignon Tourisme, he carried out numerous photographic campaigns devoted to the Palace of the Popes.

PALACE OF THE POPES AVIGNON: BOOK OF PHOTOGRAPHS
Publication: December 17, 2021
Photography: Fabrice Lepeltier
Text: Dominique Vingtain
Format : 30 x 22 cm
Paperback 128 pages / 120 illustrations
Retail price including VAT: €14,90
French / English / Italian
ISBN : 978-2-9578715-0-6
Edition: Avignon Tourisme

PALACE OF THE POPES AVIGNON: BOOK OF PHOTOGRAPHS
Publication: December 17, 2021
Photography: Fabrice Lepeltier
Text: Dominique Vingtain
Format : 30 x 22 cm
Paperback 128 pages / 120 illustrations
Retail price including VAT: €14,90
French / English / Italian
ISBN : 978-2-9578715-0-6
Edition: Avignon Tourisme

THANKS
The photographer and the authors would like to thank Cécile Helle, Mayor of Avignon, Marc Simelière, President of SPL Avignon Tourisme, Arnaud Pignol, General Manager of SPL Avignon Tourisme and all the staff for their support. Are also associated with these thanks for their help and authorizations the services of the City of Avignon, the Regional Conservation of Historic Monuments and all the people who contributed to the realization of this work.

Early closure on June 27

Due to the inauguration of the Miss.Tic exhibition “To life, to love”, the monument will close its doors at 18 p.m. (box offices closing at 17 p.m.) and the pontifical gardens at 14 p.m. (box offices closing at 13 p.m. ). Thank you for your understanding.

Home
Book
Visit
Agenda
Make a donation
×

Skip to content Skip to footer
Horaires d'ouverture jusqu'au 03 février : 10h - 17h
Horaires d'ouverture jusqu'au 03 février : 10h - 17h

Palais des Papes : photographies

Depuis plusieurs années, le Service de la Conservation du Palais des Papes oeuvre à la création et à l’enrichissement d’une pho­tothèque patrimoniale, désormais accessible au public. A la faveur de ce travail, Avignon Tourisme a souhaité éditer un ouvrage sous la forme d’un imagier et d’en confier la coordination éditoriale à Benoît Martin, alors adjoint au conservateur du Palais des Papes. Dans ce livre de 128 pages entière­ment consacré à la photographie, la beauté du Palais des Papes se révèle dans toute sa diver­sité.

« Comment rafraichir notre vision d’un monument emblématique du patrimoine français dont nous avons déjà vu tant d’images ? En mettant nos pas dans ceux d’un photographe qui se plonge dans la contemplation du monument pour en saisir les innombrables facettes, juxtaposant le tout et le détail, le parcourant à toutes les heures du jour et de la nuit et en toutes saisons. C’est ce qu’a fait Fabrice Lepeltier avec son regard aiguisé d’amoureux du patrimoine. De son volumineux fonds photographique ont été extraits des clichés qui, dialoguant de manière poétique, donnent à revoir le Palais des Papes. » Dominique Vingtain

Dominique Vingtain

Auteur

Historienne de l’art mé­diéviste, a eu la charge de diverses collections, à Nantes (musée Thomas Dobrée) et à Cluny (musée d’art et d’archéologie du Moyen-Age). Directrice du musée du Petit Palais et Conservatrice en chef du Palais des Papes (1993-2022). A ce titre, elle a publié plusieurs monographies et ouvrages collectifs sur Avignon et le Palais des Papes.

Fabrice Lepeltier

Photographe

Il collabore avec de nom­breux musées, lieux patrimoniaux, collec­tionneurs, artistes et ensembles musicaux depuis plus de 30 ans. Ses photographies et ses vidéos accom­pagnent/illustrent régulièrement des ex­positions thématiques et monographiques. Ses missions d’inventaire photographique couvrent de nombreuses collections pu­bliques ou privées. A la demande d’Avignon Tourisme, il a réa­lisé de nombreuses campagnes photogra­phiques consacrées au Palais des Papes.

PALAIS DES PAPES AVIGNON : LIVRE DE PHOTOGRAPHIES
Parution : 17 décembre 2021
Photographie : Fabrice Lepeltier
Texte : Dominique Vingtain
Format : 30 x 22 cm
Broché 128 pages / 120 illustrations
Prix public de vente TTC : 14,90 €
Français / Anglais / Italien
ISBN : 978-2-9578715-0-6
Édition : Avignon Tourisme

PALAIS DES PAPES AVIGNON : LIVRE DE PHOTOGRAPHIES
Parution : 17 décembre 2021
Photographie : Fabrice Lepeltier
Texte : Dominique Vingtain
Format : 30 x 22 cm
Broché 128 pages / 120 illustrations
Prix public de vente TTC : 14,90 €
Français / Anglais / Italien
ISBN : 978-2-9578715-0-6
Édition : Avignon Tourisme

REMERCIEMENTS
Le photographe et les auteurs tiennent à remercier Cécile Helle, Maire d’Avignon, Marc Simelière, Président de la SPL Avignon Tourisme, Arnaud Pignol, Directeur général de la SPL Avignon Tourisme et l’ensemble du personnel pour leur soutien. Sont également associées à ces remerciements pour leur aide et autorisations les services de la Ville d’Avignon, la Conservation régionale des Monuments historiques et toutes les personnes ayant concouru à la réalisation de cet ouvrage.

Icon
Icon
Icon
Icon
Icon
Icon
Icon
Icon

AVIGNON TOURISME 2023