Skip to content Skip to footer
OPENING HOURS FROM MARCH 1 TO NOVEMBER 3: 9 A.M.-19 P.M.
OPENING HOURS FROM MARCH 1 TO NOVEMBER 3: 9 A.M.-19 P.M.

Festival d'Avignon

Founded in 1947 by Jean Vilar, the Festival d'Avignon is today one of the most important international events of contemporary live performance. For over 75 years, every summer in July, Avignon has been transformed into a veritable theater town.

The Festival d'Avignon represents 75 years of universalism in the service of cultural heritage and contemporary creation. 75 years of putting Art into perspective with social reality. 75 years of a political and aesthetic project that observes the great metamorphoses of live performance and, through them, the diversity and complexity of the World.

Listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the Cour d'honneur of the Palais des Papes is its cradle, when the Festival d'Avignon now takes over more than 30 places in the city and its region: gymnasiums, cloisters, chapels, gardens, quarries, churches… Today, the Festival welcomes 120.000 spectators each year and offers more than 400 events. (shows, debates, meetings, readings, screenings).

To be the international meeting place for theatrical creation, the happy marriage between memory, history, heritage and the future, experimentation and; accentuate the territorial presence; make ecology a priority concern and promote accessibility in all its dimensions: these are the main axes of the management of Tiago Rodrigues at the head of the Festival since September 2022.

The FabricA, the first space specially designed for the Festival, was inaugurated in 2013. A place of residence for the artist during the year, it houses a room the same size as the stage in the Cour d'honneur and makes it possible to intensify the work of awareness of live performance that the Festival leads to all audiences.

The lineup will be announced in March 2023./

In September 1947, at the invitation of René Char and the Zervos couple, John Vilar presents three creations in three places in Avignon for « A week of Dramatic Art ». In the Cour d'Honneur of the Palais des Papes, fitted out for the occasion, the Municipal Theater and the Urban V Orchard, will be played a Shakespeare almost unknown at the time in France, Richard II ; The Story of Toby and Sara by Paul Claudel; and The Midday Terrace, second work by Maurice Clavel.

The Art Week continued until 1954, when the event took the name of Festival d'Avignon. 

Art week in Avignon

Good to know

Created immediately after the death of Jean Vilar in 1971, on the initiative of his closest collaborator Paul Puaux, and with the support of the BNF and the City of Avignon, the Jean Vilar House is today a place of memory and resources, but also a living place that hosts exhibitions, events and meetings all year round to perpetuate the cultural democratization project carried out by Jean Vilar and the TNP.

>> MAISONJEANVILAR.ORG

Icon

Implementation exercise of the PSBC of the Palais des Papes Tuesday February 27, 2024

The Palais des Papes will therefore be exceptionally closed to visitors until 12 p.m., and access to pedestrian traffic on the square in front of the monument will be limited.

Home
Book
Visit
Agenda
Make a donation
×

Skip to content Skip to footer
Horaires d'ouverture jusqu'au 03 février : 10h - 17h
Horaires d'ouverture jusqu'au 03 février : 10h - 17h

Festival d’Avignon

Fondé en 1947 par Jean Vilar, le Festival d’Avignon est aujourd’hui l’une des plus importantes manifestations internationales du spectacle vivant contemporain. Depuis plus de 75 ans, chaque été en juillet, Avignon se transforme en une véritable ville-théâtre.

Le Festival d’Avignon, ce sont 75 ans d’universalisme au service du patrimoine culturel et de la création contemporaine. 75 ans de mise en perspective de l’Art avec la réalité sociale. 75 ans d’un projet politique et esthétique qui observe les grandes métamorphoses du spectacle vivant et, à travers elles, la diversité et la complexité du Monde.

Classé au patrimoine mondial de l’Unesco, la Cour d’honneur du Palais des papes en est le berceau, quand le Festival d’Avignon investit désormais plus de 30 lieux de la Ville et sa région : gymnases, cloîtres, chapelles, jardins, carrières, églises… Aujourd’hui, le Festival accueille chaque année 120.000 spectateurs et propose plus de 400 rendez-vous (spectacles, débats, rencontres, lectures, projections).

Être le rendez-vous international de la création théâtrale, le mariage heureux entre la mémoire, l’histoire, le patrimoine et l’avenir, l’expérimentation et ; accentuer la présence territoriale ; faire de l’écologie une préoccupation prioritaire et favoriser l’accessibilité dans toutes ses dimensions : tels sont les grands axes de la direction de Tiago Rodrigues à la tête du Festival depuis septembre 2022.

La FabricA, premier espace spécialement conçu pour le Festival, est inauguré en 2013. Lieu de résidence d’artiste durant l’année, elle abrite une salle aux dimensions de la scène de la Cour d’honneur et permet d’intensifier le travail de sensibilisation au spectacle vivant que le Festival mène auprès de tous les publics.

La programmation sera annoncée en mars 2023./

En septembre 1947, à l’invitation de René Char et du couple Zervos, Jean Vilar présente trois créations dans trois lieux avignonnais pour « Une semaine d’Art Dramatique ». Dans la Cour d’Honneur du Palais des Papes, aménagée pour l’occasion, le Théâtre municipal et le Verger Urbain V, seront joués un Shakespeare presque inconnu à l’époque en France, Richard II ; L’Histoire de Tobie et de Sara de Paul Claudel ; et La Terrasse de midi, deuxième œuvre de Maurice Clavel.

La « Semaine d’Art » se poursuit jusqu’en 1954, où l’événement prend le nom de Festival d’Avignon. 

Semaine d'art à Avignon

Bon à savoir

Créée immédiatement après la disparition de Jean Vilar en 1971, à l'initiative de son plus proche collaborateur Paul Puaux, et avec le soutien de la BNF et de la Ville d'Avignon, la Maison Jean Vilar est aujourd'hui un lieu de mémoire et de ressources, mais aussi un lieu vivant qui accueille toute l'année expositions, animations et rencontres pour perpétuer le projet de démocratisation culturelle porté par Jean Vilar et le TNP.

>> MAISONJEANVILAR.ORG

Icon
Icon
Icon
Icon
Icon
Icon
Icon
Icon
Icon

AVIGNON TOURISME 2023