Skip to content Skip to footer
OPENING HOURS FROM MARCH 1 TO NOVEMBER 3: 9 A.M.-19 P.M.
OPENING HOURS FROM MARCH 1 TO NOVEMBER 3: 9 A.M.-19 P.M.

Gardens in the time of the Popes

Like the great princes of the Middle Ages, the popes of Avignon considered the gardens to be an integral part of their palace. Taking up the situation of the orchard and the gardens established to the east of the old episcopal palace, John XXII, Benoit XII, Clement VI and Urban V created new gardens from those of their predecessors.

But the gardens are fragile developments: only the bodies of the buildings that had been erected there remain visible today. Luckily, the accounting archives of the Apostolic Chamber kept in the Vatican make it possible to reconstruct the history of the creation of these gardens. We find there a lot of information relating to the construction of the ramparts, the fountains and various buildings, but also to the species planted and to the constructions of wood and greenery.

At the origin of the gardens: Jean XXII

Bishop of Avignon in 1310, Jacques Duèse became Pope John XXII in 1316 and settled in Avignon. He annexed the neighboring buildings of the episcopal palace, and had the adjacent stables rebuilt. An orchard was redeveloped in 1324: the ground was leveled, trees and lawns were planted, a watering system was put in place, a wall was built to close off the area. The foundations of the pontifical gardens are laid.

John XXII also has a vast collection of animals, a sign of his wealth and power. Bears, lions, camels, wild boars, deer, wild cats and rabbits are kept there in cages. His successors will add many birds: cranes, ostriches or peacocks enliven the place and we find traces of them on the painted decorations of the private apartments.

The Old Garden of Benoit XII

“Ortus Vetus”: a term meaning “enclosed space”, the main characteristic of medieval gardens. This garden is said to be “old”, in resonance with the Old Palace whose construction it accompanies, over an area of ​​2000m2. The lower garden occupies the lower part of the land, near the steam rooms. It is equipped with a well, around which grass is sown. The upper part receives a pleasure garden as well as a vegetable garden, which feeds the papal table: white cabbage, green cabbage, spinach, leeks, beans, or eggplant, chard and pumpkins alongside fragrant and medicinal herbs such as marjoram, borage, parsley and fennel.

The New Garden of Clement VI

Viridarium Novus. Created in 1344, the new garden is created towards the Trouillas tower. Clement VI surrounded it with walls, and also made numerous arrangements in the lower garden, in particular a shelter for the well as well as a relaxation room, connected to the steam rooms by a plaster and wood portico. Very shaded, this new garden is entirely strewn with meadows, echoed by the frescoes of the Chambre du cerf. A large fountain sits in the center, made of white Orgon stone, and fed by a deep well which also serves the neighboring ovens.

The Orchard of Urban V

Urban V reserves the gardens for his personal enjoyment, but in 1365 creates an extension below, digs a new well there and installs arbors there. In the lower garden, Urban V built a building (the Roma), which was richly decorated with terracotta floor tiles and used by Matteo Giovanetti as a studio. This building will be destroyed around 1835, but there are still vestiges of its enormous pillars.

Implementation exercise of the PSBC of the Palais des Papes Tuesday February 27, 2024

The Palais des Papes will therefore be exceptionally closed to visitors until 12 p.m., and access to pedestrian traffic on the square in front of the monument will be limited.

Home
Book
Visit
Upcoming
Make a donation
×

Skip to content Skip to footer
Horaires d'ouverture jusqu'au 03 février : 10h - 17h
Horaires d'ouverture jusqu'au 03 février : 10h - 17h

Les jardins au temps des papes

Comme les grands princes du Moyen Age, les papes d’Avignon ont considéré les jardins comme partie intégrante de leur palais. Reprenant la situation du verger et des jardins établis à l’est de l’ancien palais épiscopal, Jean XXII, Benoit XII, Clément VI et Urbain V ont créé de nouveaux jardins à partir de ceux de leurs prédécesseurs.

Mais les jardins sont des aménagements fragiles : seuls demeurent visibles aujourd’hui les corps de bâtiments qui y avaient été établis. Par chance, les archives comptables de la Chambre apostolique conservées au Vatican permettent de reconstituer l’historique de la création de ces jardins. Nous y trouvons de multiples informations relatives à l’édification des remparts, des fontaines et de divers corps de bâtiment mais aussi aux espèces plantées et aux constructions de bois et de verdure.

A l'origine des jardins : Jean XXII

Evèque d’Avignon en 1310, Jacques Duèse devient le pape Jean XXII en 1316 et s’installe à Avignon. Il annexe les bâtiments voisins du palais épiscopal, et fait reconstruire les écuries adjacentes. Un verger est réaménagé en 1324 : le sol est aplani, des arbres et de la pelouse sont plantés, un système d’arrosage est mis en place, une muraille est construire pour fermer la zone. Les bases des jardins pontificaux sont posées.

Jean XXII possède en outre une vaste collection d’animaux, signe de sa richesse et de sa puissance. Ours, lions, chameaux, sangliers, cerfs, chats sauvages ou encore lapins y sont gardés en cages. Ses successeurs y ajouteront de nombreux volatiles : grues, autruches ou paons animent les lieux et on en retrouve d’ailleurs la trace sur les décors peints des appartements privés.

Le jardin Vieux de Benoit XII

« Ortus Vetus » : un terme qui signifie « espace clos », la caractéristique principale des jardins médiévaux. Ce jardin est dit « vieux », en résonance avec le palais Vieux dont il accompagne la construction, sur une surface de 2000m2. Le jardin inférieur occupe la partie basse du terrain, près des étuves. Il est équipé d’un puits, autour duquel est semé du gazon. La partie supérieure reçoit un jardin d’agrément ainsi qu’un potager, qui alimente la table papale : choux blancs, choux verts, épinards, poireaux, fèves, ou encore aubergines, blettes et potirons côtoient des herbes odorantes et médicinales comme la marjolaine, la bourrache, le persil et le fenouil.

Le jardin Neuf de Clément VI

Viridarium Novus. Créé en 1344, le jardin neuf est créé vers la tour Trouillas. Clément VI l’entoure de murailles, et apporte également de nombreux aménagements dans le jardin inférieur, notamment un abri pour le puits ainsi qu’une salle de délassement, reliée aux étuves par un portique de plâtre et de bois. Très ombragé, ce jardin neuf est intégralement semé de prairie, à laquelle font écho les fresques de la Chambre du cerf. Une grande fontaine trône au centre, réalisée en pierre blanche d’Orgon, et alimentée par un profond puits qui dessert également les étuves voisines.

Le Verger d'Urbain V

Urbain V réserve les jardins pour son agrément personnel, mais créé en 1365 une extension en contrebas, y creuse un nouveau puits et y installe des tonnelles. Dans le jardin inférieur, Urbain V fait édifier un bâtiment (la Roma), qui sera richement décorée de carreaux de pavement en terre cuite et utilisée par Matteo Giovanetti comme atelier. Cet édifice sera détruit vers 1835, mais il subsiste encore les vestiges de ses énormes piliers.

Icon
Icon
Icon
Icon
Icon
Icon
Icon
Icon

AVIGNON TOURISME 2023