Skip to content Skip to footer
OPENING HOURS FROM MARCH 1 TO NOVEMBER 3: 9 A.M.-19 P.M.
OPENING HOURS FROM MARCH 1 TO NOVEMBER 3: 9 A.M.-19 P.M.

The visit route

The Palais des Papes is the most important building built during the Gothic period and testifies to the presence of the 9 popes who will succeed one another in Avignon during the 20th century. It was built in less than 1335 years, from 1352 to XNUMX. It was mainly the work of two builder popes: Benedict XII, who had the first pontifical palace built (known as the Old Palace), and Clement VI who had new extensions (called Palais Neuf).

The visit allows you to discover the stages and construction techniques of this extraordinary building and its fabulous decorations, to understand how the temporal and spiritual power of the papacy was exercised, to meet the popes and important figures. that marked the place, to relive the cultural influence and the splendor of the papal court.

Did you know ?

The Cour d'Honneur has become every year for more than 70 years and for the whole month of July, a real open-air performance hall which welcomes 2000 spectators per performance. Why ? It was in the Cour d'honneur of the Palais des Papes that the Festival d'Avignon was born in 1947, with The Tragedy of King Richard II by William Shakespeare, directed by Jean Vilar.

25 rooms open to the public

More than 25 rooms are open to the public: audience rooms such as the Great Audience and the Consistory; ceremonial rooms of exceptional dimensions which hosted ceremonies such as the Grande Chapelle Clémentine, or feasts such as the Grand Tinel; the Pope's private apartments including the Pope's Chamber and the Stag's Chamber which feature secular naturalist frescoes unique for the period; the terraces from which one discovers a marvelous panorama of the Palace, the City of Avignon and the Rhône. Currently, some cramped spaces have been closed (Lower Treasury, Upper Kitchen, South Sacristy and Great Dignitaries' terrace and cafeteria).

Court of Honor
Benoit XII cloister
deer room
Tour des Champeaux
Grand Tinel
Palace of the Popes©S. Villeger
Window of Indulgence

The Histopad for everyone

With the Histopad digital tablet, cross the doors of time and relive the splendor of the papal court in the XNUMXth century in multimedia immersion. The histopad is a touchscreen tablet which is given to each visitor. It provides a fun and interactive visit experience. Thanks to augmented reality, visitors can visualize a large part of the rooms of the Palais des Papes as they might have been in the XNUMXth century.

Visiting tips

The visit of the Palace of the Popes lasts about 2 hours and that of the pontifical gardens 30 minutes. In high season, the Palais des Papes is very busy. By booking your tickets in advance, you will have less waiting when arriving. Note that admission is free for children under 8 years old.

In the rooms, photographs are authorized in all rooms except in the rooms painted in order to preserve them: Chambre du Pape, Chambre du Cerf, Chapelle Saint Jean.

The gardens of the Palais des Papes close to visitors 30 minutes before the monument closes. Note that your Histopad does not contain information on this part of the route.

Early closure on June 27

Due to the inauguration of the Miss.Tic exhibition “To life, to love”, the monument will close its doors at 18 p.m. (box offices closing at 17 p.m.) and the pontifical gardens at 14 p.m. (box offices closing at 13 p.m. ). Thank you for your understanding.

Home
Book
Visit
Agenda
Make a donation
×

Skip to content Skip to footer
HORAIRES D'OUVERTURE DU 1ER MARS AU 3 NOVEMBRE : 9H-19H
HORAIRES D'OUVERTURE DU 1ER MARS AU 3 NOVEMBRE : 9H-19H

Le parcours de visite

Le Palais des Papes constitue le plus important édifice construit durant la période gothique et témoigne de la présence des 9 papes qui vont se succéder à Avignon au cours du XIVème siècle. Sa construction s’effectue en moins de 20 ans, de 1335 à 1352. Elle est l’œuvre principalement de deux papes bâtisseurs : Benoît XII, qui fait construire le premier palais pontifical (dit palais Vieux), et Clément VI qui fait édifier de nouvelles extensions (dit Palais Neuf).

La visite permet de découvrir les étapes et les techniques de construction de cet extraordinaire édifice et de ses fabuleux décors, de comprendre comment s’est exercé le pouvoir temporel et spirituel de la papauté, d’aller à la rencontre des papes et des personnages importants qui ont marqué les lieux, de revivre le rayonnement culturel et les fastes de la cour pontificale.

Le saviez-vous ?

La Cour d’Honneur devient chaque année depuis plus de 70 ans et pour tout le mois de juillet, une véritable salle de spectacle à ciel ouvert qui accueille 2000 spectateurs par représentation. Pourquoi ? C'est dans la Cour d'honneur du Palais des papes que nait en 1947 le Festival d'Avignon, avec La Tragédie du roi Richard II de William Shakespeare, mise en scène par Jean Vilar.

25 salles ouvertes au public

Plus de 25 salles sont ouvertes au public : les salles d’audience comme la Grande Audience et le Consistoire ; des salles d’apparat aux dimensions exceptionnelles qui ont accueilli les cérémonies comme la Grande Chapelle Clémentine, ou encore les festins comme le Grand Tinel ; les appartements privés du pape dont la Chambre du pape et la Chambre du cerf qui disposent de fresques profanes naturalistes uniques pour l’époque ; les terrasses d’où l’on découvre un merveilleux panorama sur le Palais, la Ville d’Avignon et le Rhône. Actuellement certains espaces exigus ont été fermés (Trésor bas, Cuisine haute, Sacristie Sud et terrasse des grands Dignitaires et cafétéria).

Cour d'Honneur
Cloître Benoit XII
Chambre du cerf
Tour des Champeaux
Grand Tinel
Palais des papes©S. Villéger
Fenêtre de l'Indulgence

L’Histopad pour tous

Avec la tablette numérique l’Histopad franchissez les portes du temps et revivrez les fastes de la cour pontificale au XIVe siècle en immersion multimédia. L’histopad est une tablette tactile qui est remise à chaque visiteur. Elle permet de vivre une expérience de visite ludique et interactive. Grâce à la réalité augmentée le visiteur peut visualiser une grande partie des salles du Palais des papes telles qu’elles pouvaient être au XIVe siècle.

Conseils de visite

La visite du Palais des Papes dure environ 2h et celle des jardins pontificaux 30min. En haute saison, le Palais des Papes connait une forte affluence. En réservant vos billets à l’avance, vous aurez moins d’attente en arrivant. A noter que l’entrée est gratuite pour les enfants de moins de 8 ans.

Dans les salles, les photographies sont autorisées dans toutes les salles sauf dans les salles peintes afin de les préserver : Chambre du Pape, Chambre du Cerf, Chapelle Saint Jean.

Les jardins du Palais des Papes ferment à la visite 30 minutes avant la fermeture du monument. A noter que votre Histopad ne contient pas d’informations sur cette partie du parcours.

Fermeture anticipée le 19 Juin

En raison du passage de la Flamme Olympique le 19 juin à Avignon, le monument fermera ses portes à 18h (fermeture des caisses à 17h). Merci de votre compréhension.

En savoir plus
Accueil
Réserver
Visiter
Agenda
Faire un don
×