Skip to content Skip to footer
OPENING HOURS FROM MARCH 1 TO NOVEMBER 3: 9 A.M.-19 P.M.
OPENING HOURS FROM MARCH 1 TO NOVEMBER 3: 9 A.M.-19 P.M.

2022: Restoration work on the painted decorations

A major project to restore the paintings of the Palais des Papes

The Palais des Papes preserves nearly 3900 square meters of painted decoration distributed in 27 rooms and spaces. This exceptional collection is made up of French and Italian paintings from the XNUMXthe century as well as paintings from the XNUMXe - XVIIIe centuries. The XNUMXth century paintings adorning this palace are important in the history of Western painting.

In order to promote these painted decorations and ensure their transmission to future generations, the City of Avignon and the State (Regional Department of Cultural Affairs, Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur, Aix-en-Provence), accompanied by the SPL Avignon Tourisme, have decided to devote a multi-year conservation-restoration program to them. This program, called Management plan for the painted decorations of the Palais des Papes, consists of an inventory of all of these decorations together with an assessment of their sanitary condition; he establishes the order of priorities for restoration operations according to emergencies. The scientific studies necessary for a better knowledge of each complex as well as a preventive conservation program have also been integrated into this unique management plan.

Its implementation begins in 2022 with an ambitious restoration program covering the rooms of the Great Audience, Conclave and Chamber of Notaries, co-financed by the City of Avignon and the State, which ensures the Scientific and Technical Control of the operation with the assistance of the CICRP (Interdisciplinary Center for the Conservation and Restoration of Heritage, Marseille).
This restoration contract was awarded to the company ARCOA, which specializes in the restoration of medieval wall paintings.

Of these three sites, only the one relating to three sets of the Great Audience (built in the XNUMXth century to house the Church tribunal) is visible to visitors.

Set n°2 (east wall): The Crucifixion (sinopia and fragments of frescoes), Matteo Giovannetti, 1353.
Set n°3 (southeast corner and south wall): false hangings and heraldic decorations, XVIth century.

After a diagnostic phase of each set (visual observations, shots, maps), the ARCOA restorers thus developed protocols submitted for validation by the scientific committee before undertaking the consolidation of the support, the re-fixing of the pictorial layer, the purge of the old fillings then the scouring of the paints. Then came the phase of reintegration of the paintings which makes it possible to give them back the legibility that the attacks of men and time had made them lose.

Early closure on June 27

Due to the inauguration of the Miss.Tic exhibition “To life, to love”, the monument will close its doors at 18 p.m. (box offices closing at 17 p.m.) and the pontifical gardens at 14 p.m. (box offices closing at 13 p.m. ). Thank you for your understanding.

Home
Book
Visit
Agenda
Make a donation
×

Skip to content Skip to footer
Horaires d'ouverture jusqu'au 03 février : 10h - 17h
Horaires d'ouverture jusqu'au 03 février : 10h - 17h

2022 : Chantier de restauration des décors peints

Un grand projet pour restaurer les peintures du Palais des Papes

Le Palais des Papes conserve près de 3900 mètres carrés de décor peint répartis dans 27 salles et espaces. Cet ensemble exceptionnel est composé de peintures françaises et italiennes du XIVe siècle ainsi que de peintures des XVIe – XVIIIe siècles. Les peintures du XIVe siècle ornant ce palais constituent un important dans l’histoire de la peinture occidentale.

Afin de valoriser ces décors peints et d’en assurer la transmission aux générations futures, la Ville d’Avignon et l’Etat (Direction Régionale des Affaires Culturelles, Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur, Aix-en-Provence), accompagnés par la SPL Avignon Tourisme, ont décidé de leur consacrer un programme pluriannuel de conservation-restauration. Ce programme, baptisé Plan de gestion des décors peints du Palais des Papes, est constitué d’un inventaire de l’ensemble de ces décors assorti d’un bilan de leur état sanitaire ; il établit l’ordre des priorités des opérations de restauration en fonction des urgences. Les études scientifiques nécessaires à une meilleure connaissance de chaque ensemble ainsi qu’un programme de conservation préventive ont également été intégrés à ce plan de gestion inédit.

Sa mise en œuvre débute en 2022 avec un ambitieux programme de restauration portant sur les salles de la Grande Audience, du Conclave et de la chambre des Notaires, co-financé par la Ville d’Avignon et l’Etat, qui assure le Contrôle Scientifique et Technique de l’opération avec l’assistance du CICRP (Centre interdisciplinaire de Conservation et de Restauration du Patrimoine, Marseille).
Ce marché de restauration a été attribué à la société ARCOA, spécialisée dans la restauration de peintures murales médiévales.

De ces trois chantiers, seul celui portant sur trois ensembles de la Grande Audience (bâtie au XIVe siècle pour abriter le tribunal de l’Eglise) est visible par les visiteurs.

Ensemble n°2 (mur est) : La Crucifixion (sinopia et fragments de fresques), Matteo Giovannetti, 1353.
Ensemble n°3 (angle sud-est et mur sud) : fausses tentures et décors héraldiques, XVIe siècle.

Après une phase de diagnostic de chaque ensemble (observations visuelles, prises de vues, cartographies), les restauratrices d’ARCOA ont ainsi élaboré des protocoles soumis à validation du comité scientifique avant d’entreprendre la consolidation du support, le re-fixage de la couche picturale, la purge des anciens comblements puis le décrassage des peintures. Est venu ensuite la phase de réintégration des peintures  qui permet de leur rendre la lisibilité que les atteintes des hommes et du temps leur avaient fait perdre.

Icon
Icon
Icon
Icon
Icon
Icon
Icon
Icon

AVIGNON TOURISME 2023