Skip to content Skip to footer
Loading Events

The exhibition : 

Miss.Tic: To life, to love
Art in the city, poetics of revolt (1985 – 2022)

“Poet of the city and artist in the city, Miss.Tic is a pioneer of urban art and the French stencil movement. Active since the beginning of the 1980s, she has continued, for forty years, to hammer home the same ideas – no ideals / just lofty ideas, she writes.  

It is a true literary, plastic, societal and philosophical project that she inscribes on our walls with aerosol ink. She expresses her rage, her desires, her humor, her thirst for justice through a protean practice, within which the street will remain until the end the privileged place of a mode of expression, exhibition and popular education.  

Intimate and eminently political, his work exudes an air of revolt. Disappeared in May 2022 at the age of 66, Miss.Tic occupies a central place in an art history in the process of being written, to which this first monograph and posthumous exhibition intends to contribute.  

What could be more eloquent than the Palais des Papes, for those who never ceased to celebrate the poetic power of the place, to advocate the popular over the elite, to defy and transgress the established order? A final provocation, perhaps, a final snub to history and power, in a place of masculine, political, religious and military power that has become over the centuries a symbol of culture, spectacle and celebration. .” 

Camille Lévy-Sarfati 

* The exhibition is included in the entrance ticket to the Palais des Papes 

The artist: Miss.Tic 

Real name Radhia Aounallah, wife Novat, Miss.Tic was born in 1956 in Paris. Poet and visual artist, she is an essential figure in urban art. On walls and canvases, she expresses her rage, her desires and a constant struggle for freedom.  

Daughter of a Tunisian immigrant worker and a Norman mother from a peasant background, Miss.Tic spent her childhood in the 18th arrondissement of Paris, then in an HLM in Orly, in the Paris region. At the age of 10, she survived a car accident which cost the lives of her mother, her brother and her grandmother and left her with a lifelong disability in her right hand.  

At the age of 16, shortly after the death of her father, Miss.Tic left and joined an improvisation theater troupe, “Zéro de conduit”, then a street theater group, “Kumulus”. In the meantime, she escaped for two years to the west coast of the United States where she joined the punk scene, then traveled extensively in Central America and Southeast Asia.  

Back in Paris, Miss.Tic borrows her pseudonym from the character of the witch in the adventures of Scrooge and chooses the stencil as a mode of expression. At night, often solitary and anonymous for a long time, the artist shapes his legend in the city, at the risk of frequently finding himself in police custody – before definitively choosing legality in 1999.  

Miss.Tic died on May 22, 2022. She leaves behind a popular work at the heart of an art history in the process of being written which, more than ever, echoes the tremors our society is going through. 

His works have been exhibited in multiple personal and group exhibitions in France, Spain, Italy and Germany, and are the subject of numerous publications. Miss.Tic appears in several public collections, including the Fonds municipal d'art contemporain de Paris, the Victoria and Albert Museum in London, the MUCEM in Marseille and the Musée Ingres in Montauban.

the partners : 

Around the exhibition: 

Guided tours

Guided tour every Saturday and Sunday at 15:00 p.m. from Saturday July 20, 2024 until the end of the exhibition.  

Full price: € 16.50   
Senior rate: €15.00  
Pass and reduced price: €14.00   
Free – 8 years old  

Information and reservations: www.avignon-tourisme.com or at 04.32.74.32.74

Educational visits with workshops

For schools in Greater Avignon and within the limits of available slots.   
Information and reservations: Cécile Bienfait – c.bienfait@avignon-tourisme.com

France Culture Podcasts

A selection of interviews and programs offered by our radio partner France Culture / Explore a selection of interviews and programs by our radio partner France Culture 

Emission : The Factory of History 

Radio walk in the Palace of the Popes - 53 min 

Emission : The Nights of France Culture 

Miss.Tic: “On the walls people answer me: leave me your number” - 1h 

Emission : A lifetime 

Miss.Tic (1956 – 2022), the wall art of a poet (radiofrance.fr) - 1h 

A series on street art in Les Nuits de France Culture : “Street Art, history and prehistory” – 11 episodes

A series on street art in Les Nuits de France Culture : “Street Art, from counterculture to museum” 

Emission : Esprit de Justice 

 Tags, Graffiti… or street art? - 58 min 

Emission : The Nights of France Culture 

How did street art go from illegal to bankable? - 44 min 

Emission : The Big Table 

Can women change the world? Meetings around street art - 1h 

“Miss.Tic” bookstore and products 

Boutique of the Palace of the Popes 

Exhibition catalogue. Editions Speciwomen. 150 pages. 40€  

Special issue “Beaux-arts Magazine” 44 pages. 10€ 

Booklet for young audiences. 12 pages. €5 

Numerous derivative products around the world of Miss.Tic: exhibition poster and postcards, stickers, etc.

Early closure on June 27

Due to the inauguration of the Miss.Tic exhibition “To life, to love”, the monument will close its doors at 18 p.m. (box offices closing at 17 p.m.) and the pontifical gardens at 14 p.m. (box offices closing at 13 p.m. ). Thank you for your understanding.

Home
Book
Visit
Agenda
Make a donation
×

Skip to content Skip to footer
Chargement Évènements

L’exposition : 

Miss.Tic : À la vie, à l’amor
Art dans la ville, poétique de la révolte (1985 – 2022)

“Poétesse de la ville et artiste dans la cité, Miss.Tic est une pionnière de l’art urbain et du mouvement des pochoiristes français. Active dès le début des années 1980, elle n’a eu de cesse, durant quarante ans, de marteler les mêmes idées – pas d’idéaux / juste des idées hautes, écrit-elle.  

C’est un véritable projet littéraire, plastique, sociétal et philosophique qu’elle inscrit sur nos murs à l’encre aérosol.  Elle y exprime sa rage, ses désirs, son humour, sa soif de justice à travers une pratique protéiforme, au sein de laquelle la rue restera jusqu’au bout le lieu privilégié d’un mode d’expression, d’exposition et d’éducation populaire.  

Intime et éminemment politique, son œuvre souffle un air de révolte. Disparue en mai 2022 à l’âge de 66 ans, Miss.Tic occupe une place centrale au sein d’une histoire de l’art en train de s’écrire, à laquelle cette première monographie et exposition posthume entend contribuer.  

Quoi de plus éloquent alors que le Palais des Papes, pour celle qui n’eut de cesse de célébrer la puissance poétique des lieux, de prôner le populaire face à l’élite, de braver, transgresser l’ordre établi ? Une ultime provocation, peut-être, un dernier pied-de-nez à l’histoire et au pouvoir, dans un lieu de la puissance masculine, politique, religieuse et militaire devenu au fil des siècles symbole de culture, de spectacle et de célébration.” 

Camille Lévy-Sarfati 

* L’exposition est incluse dans le billet d’entrée du Palais des Papes 

L’artiste : Miss.Tic 

De son vrai nom Radhia Aounallah, épouse Novat, Miss.Tic naît en 1956 à Paris. Poétesse et artiste plasticienne, elle est une figure incontournable de l’art urbain. Sur les murs et les toiles, elle exprime sa rage, ses désirs et une lutte constante pour la liberté.  

Fille d’un travailleur immigré tunisien et d’une mère normande issue du milieu paysan, Miss.Tic passe son enfance dans le 18e arrondissement de Paris, puis dans un HLM d’Orly, en région parisienne. A l’âge de 10 ans, elle survit à un accident de voiture qui coûtera la vie à sa mère, son frère et sa grand-mère et la marquera à vie d’un handicap de la main droite.  

A l’âge de 16 ans, peu après le décès de son père, Miss.Tic se fait la malle et intègre une troupe de théâtre d’improvisation, « Zéro de conduite », puis de théâtre de rue, « Kumulus ». Entre temps, elle s’évade deux ans sur la côte ouest des Etats-Unis où elle intègre le milieu punk, puis voyage longuement en Amérique centrale et en Asie du Sud-Est.  

De retour à Paris, Miss.Tic emprunte son pseudonyme au personnage de la sorcière dans les aventures de Picsou et choisit le pochoir comme mode d’expression. La nuit, souvent solitaire et longtemps anonyme, l’artiste façonne sa légende dans la ville, au risque de se retrouver fréquemment en garde à vue – avant de faire définitivement le choix du légal en 1999.  

Miss.Tic est décédée le 22 Mai 2022. Elle laisse derrière elle une œuvre populaire et au cœur d’une histoire de l’art en train de s’écrire qui, plus que jamais, fait écho aux secousses que traverse notre société 

Ses œuvres ont été exposées dans de multiples expositions personnelles et collectives en France, en Espagne, en Italie et en Allemagne, et font l’objet de nombreuses publications. Miss.Tic apparaît dans plusieurs collections publiques, parmi lesquelles le Fonds municipal d’art contemporain de Paris, le Victoria and Albert Museum à Londres, le MUCEM à Marseille et le Musée Ingres de Montauban.

les partenaires  : 

Autour de l’exposition : 

Visites guidées

Visite guidée tous les samedis et dimanches à 15h00 à partir du samedi 20 juillet 2024 jusqu’à la fin de l’exposition.  

Tarif plein : 16.50 €   
Tarif sénior : 15.00 €  
Tarif pass et réduit : 14.00 €   
Gratuit – 8 ans  

Informations et réservations : www.avignon-tourisme.com ou au 04.32.74.32.74

Visites pédagogiques avec ateliers

Pour les scolaires du Grand Avignon et dans la limite des créneaux disponibles.   
Informations et réservations : Cécile Bienfait – c.bienfait@avignon-tourisme.com

Les Podcasts France Culture

Une sélection d’entretiens et d’émissions proposés par notre partenaire radio France Culture / Explore a selection of interviews and programmes by our radio partner France Culture 

Emission : La Fabrique de l’Histoire 

Balade radiophonique dans le Palais des Papes53 min 

Emission : Les Nuits de France Culture 

Miss.Tic : « Sur les murs les gens me répondent : laissez-moi votre numéro »1h 

Emission : Toute une Vie 

Miss.Tic (1956 – 2022), l’art mur d’une poétesse (radiofrance.fr)1h01 

Une série sur le street art dans Les Nuits de France Culture : “Street Art, histoire et préhistoire” – 11 épisodes

Une série sur le street art dans Les Nuits de France Culture : “Street Art, de la contre-culture au musée” 

Emission : Esprit de Justice 

 Tags, Graffitis … ou street art ?58 min 

Emission : Les Nuits de France Culture 

Comment le street art est passé de l’illégal au bankable ?44 min 

Emission : La Grande Table 

Les Femmes peuvent-elles changer le monde ? Rencontres autour du street art1h23 

Librairie et produits “Miss.Tic” 

Boutique du Palais des Papes 

Catalogue de l’exposition. Editions Speciwomen. 150 pages.  40€  

Hors-Série « Beaux-arts Magazine » 44 pages. 10€ 

Livret jeune public. 12 pages. 5 € 

Nombreux produits dérivés autour de l’univers de Miss.Tic : affiche de l’exposition et cartes postales, stickers, etc…

Fermeture anticipée le 19 Juin

En raison du passage de la Flamme Olympique le 19 juin à Avignon, le monument fermera ses portes à 18h (fermeture des caisses à 17h). Merci de votre compréhension.

En savoir plus
Accueil
Réserver
Visiter
Agenda
Faire un don
×