Skip to content Skip to footer
Loading Events

"All Events

  • This event happened

77th edition of the Avignon Festival

July 5 - July 25

Description

Founded in 1947 by Jean Vilar, the Festival d'Avignon is today one of the most important international events of contemporary performing arts. For 77 years, every summer, Avignon has been transformed into a theater town.

The Festival d'Avignon represents 77 years of universalism in the service of cultural heritage and contemporary creation. 77 years of putting Art into perspective with social reality. 77 years of a political and aesthetic project that observes the great metamorphoses of live performance and, through them, the diversity and complexity of the World.

Listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the Cour d'honneur of the Palais des Papes is the cradle of the Festival, which takes over more than 30 places in the city and its region. Within works of art but also gymnasiums in cloisters, chapels in gardens, quarries in churches, the Festival welcomes more than 120 spectators during more than 000 appointments (shows, debates, meetings, readings, screenings ).

To be the international meeting place for theatrical creation, the happy marriage between memory, history, heritage and the future, experimentation and; accentuate the territorial presence; make ecology a priority concern and promote accessibility in all its dimensions: these are the main axes of the direction of Tiago Rodrigues at the head of the Festival since September 2022.

In 2013, the FabricA, the first space specially designed for the Festival, was inaugurated. A place of residence for artists throughout the year, it houses a room the same size as the stage in the Cour d'honneur and helps to intensify the work of raising awareness of performing arts that the Festival carries out with all audiences.

Good to know

  • The 77th edition will take place from Wednesday July 5 to Tuesday July 25, 2023
  • Presentation of the program on Wednesday April 5 at 17 p.m. by Tiago Rodrigues from FabricA – Broadcast on FaceBook live and the Festival d'Avignon website
  • More information on festival-avignon.com

Details

Start :
July 5
End :
July 25
Event Category:
Home
Reservation
Visit
Agenda
Donate
×

Skip to content Skip to footer
Chargement Évènements

Description

Fondé en 1947 par Jean Vilar, le Festival d’Avignon est aujourd’hui l’une des plus importantes manifestations internationales du spectacle vivant contemporain. Depuis 77 ans, chaque été, Avignon se transforme en une ville-théâtre.

Le Festival d’Avignon, ce sont 77 ans d’universalisme au service du patrimoine culturel et de la création contemporaine. 77 ans de mise en perspective de l’Art avec la réalité sociale. 77 ans d’un projet politique et esthétique qui observe les grandes métamorphoses du spectacle vivant et, à travers elles, la diversité et la complexité du Monde.

Classé au patrimoine mondial de l’Unesco, la Cour d’honneur du Palais des papes est le berceau du Festival qui investit plus de 30 lieux de la Ville et sa région. Au sein d’ouvrages d’Art mais aussi de gymnases en cloîtres, de chapelles en jardins, de carrières en églises, le Festival accueille plus de 120 000 spectateurs lors de plus 400 rendez-vous (spectacles, débats, rencontres, lectures, projections).

Être le rendez-vous international de la création théâtrale, le mariage heureux entre la mémoire, l’histoire, le patrimoine et l’avenir, l’expérimentation et ; accentuer la présence territoriale ;faire de l’écologie une préoccupation prioritaire et favoriser l’accessibilité dans toutes ses dimensions : tels sont les grands axes de la direction de Tiago Rodrigues à la tête du Festival depuis septembre 2022..

En 2013, la FabricA, premier espace spécialement conçu pour le Festival, est inauguré. Lieu de résidence d’artiste durant l’année, elle abrite une salle aux dimensions de la scène de la Cour d’honneur et permet d’intensifier le travail de sensibilisation au spectacle vivant que le Festival mène auprès de tous les publics.

Bon à savoir

  • La 77e édition aura lieu du mercredi 5 au mardi 25 juillet 2023
  • Présentation de la programmation le mercredi 5 avril à 17h par Tiago Rodrigues depuis la FabricA – Diffusion sur FaceBook live et le site internet du Festival d’Avignon
  • Plus d’informations sur festival-avignon.com

Fermeture anticipée le 19 Juin

En raison du passage de la Flamme Olympique le 19 juin à Avignon, le monument fermera ses portes à 18h (fermeture des caisses à 17h). Merci de votre compréhension.

En savoir plus
Accueil
Réserver
Visiter
Agenda
Faire un don
×